top of page
  • msherman33

Quick Coconut Curry

Looking for a quick & easy recipe that has a kick to it? This Quick Coconut Curry has just enough to bring a smile & rouge to my cheek and brighten these days in quarantine!

 

As the world seems to come to a halt around us, I find it ever-more pressing to find the time to do the things that I love. Cooking, for me, is a form of meditation; a way to express myself and find balance in my own life. I am so grateful to still have the opportunity to serve as a VISTA remotely, but there is a sense of melancholy as the end of my service term approaches in July. I miss the day-to-day interactions with the Mercy Community, being able to sit in the Market and blast silly music and greet each member who walked through the door. What I wouldn't give to be waking up at 4am to receive an early-morning delivery, or hiking up to the Dobbs Ferry Campus for the Mavies Award Ceremony after class; but this simply isn't the reality anymore.


Cooking has turned into the most consistent part of my day, and an activity that I look forward to whenever I'm feeling down. My partner and I work back-to-back in the kitchen-- chopping, sauteing, boiling, cleaning. It's our time to come together at the end of the day to make something we can share.


Last Thursday, we threw this Quick Coconut Curry together using some scraps we found in the fridge. The coconut gave it a Thai-inspired flavor, and was full of delicious vegetables and fragrant spices! We cooked it all in one pot, making sure to kick it up a notch with some extra cayenne for the ~senses~. This dish is great on its own or served over a grain. I had some couscous salad that I made earlier in the week that paired fairly well with the curry-- but I would definitely recommend Jasmine or Basmati Rice. Check out the recipe below on how to make this super easy dish!



I hope you enjoyed this recipe, and I hope it brightened up your day just a tad!

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Healthy foods for a strong immune system

By: Olga Uzunova As cases of Coronavirus multiply, it's important to remember that one of the best forms of protections is prevention. Enhance your immune system with wholesome food to stay healthy, f

bottom of page